You are currently viewing What is PTSD and 5 Stages of PTSD
PTSD treatment

What is PTSD and 5 Stages of PTSD

  • Post author:
  • Post category:blogs
  • Post comments:0 Comments

Mental health disorder post-traumatic stress (PTSD) is defined as the development of stress symptoms following an incident in which the person’s life or safety, or that of others, was at risk.

Five Stages of PTSD

1. Impact or Emergency Stage

The immediate aftermath of a traumatic event is when the individual is struggling to come to terms       with what they witnessed or were a part of.

2. Denial/ Numbing Stage

The numbing or denial stage is not experienced by everyone with PTSD. Denial of the event’s reality is  a common coping mechanism for those with post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD).

It is the mind’s way of ensuring that it is not hurt any further by removing the high levels of stress and anxiety that it is experiencing.

3. Rescue Stage

In the rescue phase, the victim begins to comprehend what has happened to them. returning to the scene of trauma, such as a home that was damaged by fire or natural disaster, is possible at this point. It includes acknowledging what has happened, but also continuing to deal with the initial shock and distress.

4. Short-term Recovery or Intermediate Stage.

The individual with PTSD begins to enter recovery and begins to adjust to returning to a “normal” life after meeting his or her basic safety and survival needs during this stage. This is a time when people can either be humbled by the outpouring of love and support for them, or they can be disappointed by the lack thereof.

Short-term recovery entails adjusting to a new level of acceptance and comprehension of the trauma and how it has affected their lives. Healing can begin and many people begin to enjoy a more positive outlook, including a plan or steps to overcome PTSD.

5. Long-term reconstruction or recovery stage

A person with post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) enters the reconstruction stage when he or she begins to implement a recovery programme. The Integration Stage is another name for this phase.

Some people may become anxious about their futures as they learn to cope with symptoms and incorporate new skills into their daily lives, resulting in feelings of fear and depression.

To book an appointment or inquire Call  +60 14-687 2268 or visit our website

Leave a Reply